Storyteller’s fire

As it’s getting cold again, I am spending a lot of time feeding the woodstove and then sitting and watching it.  That’s the trouble with a nice fire.  If a person needs to get some work done, a person might be better off cranking up the propane furnace, which is no fun to watch at all.  

Or maybe I am simply terminally distractible.  Here I am in the middle of the heavy lifting on a nonfiction project and along comes something so delicious that all I want to do is write a scene that’s swirling in my mind.  It’s all Ken Scott’s fault.  His giant sparklers (An exploration of fire on ice at night) lit up my little synapses, and I can’t stop thinking about them.  

Today’s prompt:  Go see what Ken’s been up to.  I’ll bet it gives you ideas.  It’s just so beautiful, and so intentional.  He doesn’t get a little idea and tie it up in a bow in an hour or so.  He gets a big idea and spends a lot of time figuring out how to make it work and then finding the right time and place for maximum effect and then . . . well, let’s just say he applies a lot of discipline to his inspirations.

Soooo . . . OK, plan a little.  Then write, paint, sculpt, photograph, compose . . . create.

This entry was posted in Daily prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Storyteller’s fire

  1. Carsten says:

    Happy birthday to the little languishing blog.
    Is there reason to be worried about its future? We shall see. Now the umbilical cord connecting to its origin is cut. – there in no longer a link on torch lake views.
    It is with blogs as with children. If no one takes notice of them they dwindle to nothing.
    Maybe the little blog has unannounced siblings somewhere?

    If I’m too late: Rest in peace.

    • Gerry says:

      Hello, Carsten. The little blog certainly has been napping for a long while. I didn’t exactly wake it up, but I did put my belated “Rule of Thirds” homework here. Maybe I will get myself going again. Either way, thank you for the thought.

Leave a Reply

