Inchies indeed

I am reliably informed that Inchies—miniature works of art that will fit handily within a one-inch square—are all the rage.  There’s even going to be an Inchie Valentinie workshop during the JRAC opening on Sunday.  I am always behind the curve of fashion, but in this case I resolved to huff and puff and catch up.  I would make a set of Inchies from faces cropped from compelling old photos full of Civil War veterans and other miscreants and fill the back of each one with a tiny story in crabbed writing. 

I was going along great guns when I realized it isn’t possible to make a digital Inchie.  Pixels are elastic.  The size of that photo above will vary with the size of your monitor.  Rats.  OK, how about if you set your monitor so that the photo is a one-inch square?  Oh never mind just use your imagination. 

Today’s prompt:  Figure out how to shoehorn what you have to say into a one-inch square or its functional equivalent.  I suppose you might be having the sort of day when you’ll have to add some filler to make up the whole inch, but it usually works the other way, doesn’t it.  Depending on your medium, you may have to define “inch.”  Then you have to figure out how to make it stay.  Sounds like spaniel management.  I digress. 

This is all a lot of effort for an intentionally small result, but problem solving is good exercise for the imagination.  Lessee, 1 inch = 2.54 cm . . .

Write, paint, construct, compose, weave, photograph . . . Create.

This entry was posted in Daily prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Inchies indeed

  1. 2.54 cm ? That is not really big, is it 😉 ? See what we can do about these Inchies… Why make it simple when you can complicate it, right ? I still love your blog, Gerry 🙂

    • Gerry says:

      It is very little. However. When I went over to JRAC yesterday to document the installation of For the Love of Letters I discovered that some of the organizers have been sneaking in 2-inch by 2-inch Inchies. I swear, give people an inch and they’ll take 5.08 cm. Talk about complicating things. I am glad you love my blog, Isa. I’m having a pretty good time with it myself.

  2. Pingback: Inchies, in images and words « Isathreadsoflife’s Blog

  3. Happy Valentine’s Day to you, dear Gerry. Here I am back with – I hope – real inchies 😉
    http://isathreadsoflife.wordpress.com/2011/02/14/inchies-in-images-and-words/

  4. Ah, so this is where it all started. Not surprising at all, Gerry! 🙂

  5. Giiid says:

    I have never heard about “Inchies” before, I am very happy that they finally crossed my way, as I believe I have been an Inchie fan all the time. Now I will study this, my new friend of expression. Thank you!

  6. Gerry says:

    I am having so much fun with this. All the cool people are over here having fun secretly. Carsten has done a gallery that simply knocks me out. Who knew????

  7. Nye says:

    So less is more? 😉

  8. kanniduba says:

    How did I not discover this sooner??
    So glad I decided to crash the party! 🙂

  9. Gerry says:

    I’m glad you did, too. Now I see that I should write another prompt. I’ve had one in mind, but there’s been so much else there too . . .

Leave a Reply

