The Gently Used Ideas store is open

I am a writer.  Upon discovering this people ask, “Where do you get your ideas?”  This flummoxes me.  Ideas are not my problem.  Not ever.  I always have way more ideas than I can possibly use, and if I ever run out I have an entire Mulch Pile of fragments that I can mine.  Focus, execution, finding my glasses—those are my problems. 

You need an idea to kick-start your creativity?  I’ve got some.  I have so many of ’em piled in the corners that I should open a Gently Used Ideas store.  Here.  Take one home with you. 

Today’s prompt:  Find a small box.  Empty it out.  Explore its inner surfaces.  Close it up.  Explore its outer shape.  Open it again and imagine what it would be like to live inside the box. 

Now write, or paint, or photograph, or compose, or weave, or . . . .

Create.

This entry was posted in Daily prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Gently Used Ideas store is open

  1. Your Gently Used Ideas Store sounds fascinating to me, Gerry. I think I will open your door more than once… For the moment, I will open a tiny and colourful box received lately. And imagine.
    I have already learned a new word in your Ideas Store : flummox ! sidérer in French. Quite a word. Thanks a lot and good luck.

  2. Gerry says:

    I think it’s a wonderful thing when a visitor from Away can follow my idiosyncratic use of English. You’d be surprised how many people who are closer at hand have difficulty with it.

  3. Molly says:

    Gerry! I had no idea you’d opened a G.U.I. Store. Like you, I have a-bazillion prompts and a tall Compost Heap (well, can I help it if we think the same?), but now I see I will have some more, courtesy of you. I’m terribly excited about this!

    • Gerry says:

      I’m pretty sure this is how used bookstores get started. People just have so many books . . . hmmm. Perhaps there could be a used book annex at the Gently Used Ideas store? But I digress.

      I have not only the Mulch Pile but the Toxic Waste Dump. But that’s another post entirely.

Leave a Reply

